Walter Buce Award





The Atlanta Chapter of RIMS is sponsoring the “Walter H. Buce, Jr. Memorial Award” to honor an outstanding Risk Management and Insurance Professional.   The first award was presented posthumously to Walter H. Buce, Jr. to recognize his contribution to the Atlanta Risk Management and Insurance Community.



Eligible candidates for this award must be a risk management or insurance professional or educator and serve in the property and casualty segment of the industry or university.   For example, the candidate may be an insurance broker, insurance agent, claims adjuster, underwriter, public official, insurance consultant, college professor or risk manager.

Each written nomination will be judged and rated separately by the Atlanta RIMS Directors and Officers.   The candidate with the highest aggregate rank as determined by the panel will be selected to receive the “Walter H. Buce, Jr. Memorial Award.”  The recipient of the award will be the guest of the Atlanta RIMS Chapter during the Annual Atlanta RIMS Educational Conference.  The award will be presented and the recipient honored during the lunch on the first day of the conference.  The Atlanta RIMS Chapter will announce the name of the winner of the award to the public through the chapter website and press releases.

Past recipients of the “Walter H. Buce, Jr. Memorial Award”

1996    -     Walter H. Buce, Jr. (posthumously), National Services Industries, Inc.
1997    -     Dr. Sandra Gustavson, University of Georgia

1998    -     J. Gary Meggs, Southern Company
1999    -     G. David Reid,  Palmer & Cay of Georgia, Inc.
2000    -     Evelyn Brown, Health Prime
2001    -     Paul Pressley, GoldKist, Inc.
2002    -     Michael Eremchuk, First Data Corporation
2003    -     Scott Rich, Flowers Foods, Inc.
2004    -     Pat Hopkins, McGriff, Seibels & Williams, Inc.
2005    -     Dr. E.J. Leverett, University of Georgia
2006    -     Mary Bruce Edmonds, Acuity Brands, Inc.
2007    -     Mike Fenlon, UPS
2008    -     Susan Shemanski, Spherion Corporation
2009    -     Dr. Rob E. Hoyt, University of Georgia
2010    -     Dan Houston, The McCart Group
2011    -     John Greaber, Exide Technologies
2012    -     Charles Austin, Aon Corporation
2013    -     Dennis Baltz, Willis
2014    -     Bob Bridges, McGriff, Seibels & Williams, Inc.